Advisory Committee

Center for the Constitution

Current Members

Lynne Cheney
Former Director, National Endowment for the Humanities

Richard Dreyfuss
Actor and founder of

Lee H. Hamilton
President and director of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, and director of The Center on Congress at Indiana University. Hamilton served for 34 years in Congress.

Prof. A. E. Dick Howard
University of Virginia School of Law; internationally recognized expert in constitutional jurisprudence

Dr. Ralph Ketcham
Syracuse University (emeritus); noted founding era historian and author of the definitive biography of James Madison

Jon Meacham
Executive editor and executive vice president at Random House; former editor of Newsweek, and Pulitzer Prize-winning author

Jack Rakove
Stanford University; Pulitzer Prize-winning author, noted for his analysis and understanding of constitutional theory

Rod Smolla
President of Furman University; former dean, Washington and Lee School of Law

Strobe Talbott
President of the Brookings Institution; former deputy secretary of state in the Clinton Administration

George F. Will
Syndicated columnist and Pulitzer Prize-winning author

Roger Wilkins
George Mason University (emeritus); civil rights leader and former journalist with the Washington Post and The New York Times